Alliance Quartett Wien © Raimund Appel
Summer Concert • Alliance Quartett Wien
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 10 August 2021
6.30 pm
Alliance Quartett Wien © Raimund Appel

 Alliance Quartett Wien
   Robert Olisa Nzekwu violin
   Katharina Henriquez violin
   Raphael Handschuh viola
   Johanna Kotschy-Appel violoncello

Anton WEBERN Langsamer Satz for String Quartet
Darius MILHAUD String Quartet No. 7 in B-flat major op. 87
Camille SAINT-SAËNS String Quartet No. 1 in E minor op. 112

Free admission | registration required

The Viennese Classical period remained the standard for musical art throughout Europe far beyond the 19th century. The string quartet took on a special role as the "touchstone of a solid composer" (Ferdinand Pohl). Camille Saint-Saëns did not turn to the genre until 1899, when he was well into his sixties. His work is in the classical tradition and at the same time has a very personal, expressive note. Anton Webern's quartet movement was written at the beginning of his compositional path and explores the boundaries of tonal music in an emotionally overwhelming sound journey. Darius Milhaud's B-flat major quartet, on the other hand, seems like a liberation at 10 minutes, the piece lasts no longer than Webern's "Langsamer Satz" and impresses with a light and carefree, yet at the same time distinctly modern tonal language.

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube.